Events Calendar

Full events listing »
« Back

The Southeastern Journalism Conference (SEJC) named Tomi Parrish, journalism instructor and coordinator of the Office of Student Media at the University of Tennessee at Martin, as Educator of the Year.

"I'm pleased that Tomi (Parrish) has won this prestigious award,” said Dr. Robert Nanney, professor and chairman of the UT Martin communications department. “It's well deserved and long overdue. I joined others in nominating her for this honor."

The Pacer, UT Martin’s student newspaper won two top 10 awards, while Bradley Stingfield, of Oliver Springs, won ninth place for Best Sports Writer in the annual competition and Mary Jean Hall, of Covington, won sixth place in Best News Graphic Designer.

The Pacer also finished sixth for the Best College Website and sixth for Best Public Service Journalism (Veterans Day/ROTC package).

The awards, chosen from 440 qualified entries from 35 universities, were announced at the SEJC’s annual convention, hosted by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette on Feb. 20-22.

"It's so gratifying to see our student media continue their winning ways at SEJC,” said Nanney. “This reflects the hard work and dedication of our WUTM and Pacer students, along with the vision and mentorship of their advisers, Dr. Richard Robinson and Tomi Parrish."

WUTM was named the third best college radio station in the southeast and it had the third best college audio news program.

Aimee Bilger, of Martin, won third place as the Best Radio News Feature Reporter, while MaryLynn Williams, of Franklin, was named the Best Radio Journalist.

Overall, 169 students from 34 universities were ranked in the 30 “Best of the South” categories. The SEJC consists of 51 member universities in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, and Tennessee.